DSO Remix Contest winners announced

The Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin (DSO Berlin) has announced the winners of “Romantic Revolution: Bruckner Unlimited”, the 2015-16 Remix Contest. This edition invited sound artists and musicians to rework samples from the fourth and last movement of Symphony No. 4 in E-flat major by Austrian composer Anton Bruckner (1824-1896). With this contest, DSO Berlin and SONOS, the audio equipment company, aim at bridging the gap between two musical genres and explore spectacular new sound experiences.

The first prize went to London-based sound artist François Larini aka S/QU/NC/R who convinced the jury with his track Mäßig bewegt. The second prize went to Lambert Windges from Grevenbroich in Westphalia, the third prize to Rabon Aibo alias AIBOS from Lübeck.
Toronto-born Oscar Finch aka VennDiagramm, third prizewinner of the 2014 contest was awarded the fourth prize. The fifth prize is shared between Berlin-based Swiss Alexandre J. Maurer aka Arctic Joy and V. B. Kühl aka Volker Bahmer from Frankfurt.

The patron of the competition is internationally renowned German musician, DJ and producer Henrik Schwarz. The winners were selected by an international jury composed of Henrik Schwarz; Daniel Gerhardt, Spex editor; Julian Weber, taz editor; and Estonian conductor Risto Joost.

The award ceremony, presented by Anni Dunkelmann, will take place at Casual Concert, Philharmonie Berlin on 1st April 2016.

About the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin

The Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester (DSO Berlin) was awarded a Grammy Award in 2011. In its 69-year history as Berlin’s radio and concert orchestra, it has established a reputation with special programming, stylistic assurance and diversity. The DSO’s profile is characterised by a great level of commitment to contemporary music, as well as openness to new forms of presentation and the opportunities provided by new media.
The DSO Berlin launched its first Remix Contest in 2013.

These are the Remix Contest 2015-16 winners’ tracks:

1st Prize: François Larini (London)

2nd Prize: Lambert Windges (Grevenbroich)

3rd Prize: Rabon Aibo (Lübeck)

4th Prize: Oscar Finch (Toronto)

5th Prize: Alexandre J. Maurer (Berlin) and Volker Bahmer (Frankfurt)


Create a website or blog at WordPress.com